Two-ti Fruiti

28 Feb

Lemon Yogurt Cake

First of all, possibly the least photogenic cake I have ever witnessed. Mary Berry’s Lemon Yogurt Cake, from her Baking bible. I mean, look at it Mary! Had I been baking to impress on first sight, this just wouldn’t cut the mustard. This is not a bake-off winner. Luckily, it tasted good and was fairly easy to make – a saving grace. As it has yogurt as a major ingredient, Mary suggests you keep the cake refrigerated – fat chance, Mary! I scoffed it all pretty quick.

Slice Lemon Yogurt Cake

I even processed these photos to make them look more classy, using the “Italian” setting on my camerabag app.  Hmph.

You can find the recipe and another incarnation of the cake (looking just as un-inspiring, albeit with a little sugary lemon decoration) on A Kiss of Cookies blog

And now for something a lot more beauteous, a creation from Samalamadingdong, Cover Girl extraordinaire! Look at this beaut – a blueberry crumble CAKE! It’s cake AND its crumble. Woah there…

Blueberry Muffin Cake

What you need to know about Sam is that her cooking is A-MAZING for a start. Mostly this is because she is very creative, and makes the most delicious meals every time I’ve been round her house – and seems to do it all so effortlessly. Oh yeah, I’m just throwing in some doo-dah wotsits into this. I’ve never done it before, lets just see what happens.  She says. And it always works. Every ruddy time!

So, thankyou Sam for sharing this recipe  – which can be found here on Allrecipes. Hang on a minute though. You didn’t think Sam followed the recipe to the letter did you? Where would the fun be in that? Here’s what the crafty madam had to say…

I didn’t have ground cinnamon to add to the crumble so I added about a teaspoon of French almond extract – is yummy! Also I cooked for an extra 10-15 mins but oven was on at 150 (as have fan oven so dropped the temp a bit). Think it’d make nice warm pud with ice cream! Num num.

Num num indeed Sam, when do you want me?

Sam's Blueberry crumble cake

Pin It

One Response to “Two-ti Fruiti”

  1. Lorraine Pearce March 4, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    I agree with your comments about Sam’s cooking, I regularly experience her creations.
    I don’t know where she gets it from as it’s not me (her Mum) I follow recipe’s to the last word but will amend them afterwards if necessary.
    Well done one and all
    Lorraine
    XXXXX

Leave a Reply

