Frosty The Snowman

18 Oct

Untitled

Last weekend saw the final race of the year for me & Mr Cakes – the inaugural Snowman Triathlon run by Always Aim High Events. Brrr, sounds chilly, no? Gingerly stepping into Lake Mymbyr for the swim it certainly was, but we weren’t given much time to get in and worry about it before the starting hooter honked. The water was 11 degrees, they said, chilliest swim yet this year.

Big sis and Big-bro-in-law were our support team for the weekend. Dave, of the wonderful Dave Johnson’s Photography documented the weekend, all the photos here are his. Good, yes?

Swim over, and I couldn’t feel my feet. I shouted as much to Big sis as I ran tried to run into transition. The longest transition of the year followed; socks on, tights on, jacket on, drink, eat, gloves on, sunglasses, helmet, race belt, don’t forget your bike, and try to squeeze out of transition and onto the road.

Untitled

Untitled

Naturally, it didn’t take long for Mr Cakes to overtake me on the bike leg, with a shout of “Come on 42!” We’ll meet again, I thought. And we did, just before he almost disappeared down a bog halfway up Moel Siabod. Yep, a fell run on this tri. It had been billed as probably the hardest run route on any triathlon in the UK. Ouch! This was not to be our most successful outing.

It was , however, the prettiest. The glassy lake, the picturesque cycle through Betws-y-Coed and past the Llanwrst tea room, covered in autumnal ivy, and the view from the top of Moel Siabod. My favourite part of the race? Stopping to pat the little husky at the top of the mountain. The marshalls, spectators, and other competitors cheering us on really made the race a good ‘un.

And thank goodness for Big sis who’d made suitably themed Tri-fle cupcakes for afterwards. We needed them, and they were ruddy good too.

Fellow blogger Rosemary over at Planet Byde did rather well, coming 3rd in the ladies race. Read all about it here!

And now, time to plan next year. I’m already gagging to perfect fell running. Slateman Triathlon anyone?

5 Responses to “Frosty The Snowman”

  1. markwcunningham October 18, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Enjoyed reading your post. Just starting to do the Tri thing, so I look forward to following your blog!

    • Shoreditch Bakes October 19, 2012 at 12:18 am #

      Thank you! Good luck with your 70.3 training. I haven’t done a triathlon that long, yet….

  2. rosemarybyde October 18, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    I wish my dad was as good with a camera as your Dave!

    I have to say though, this isn’t the toughest triathlon run route in the UK 😉
    Though I suppose, I did actually run most of this one, and the harder one I know of I walked most of … so technically, perhaps it is!

    • Shoreditch Bakes October 18, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      I think we’ve convinced Dave to enter the Slateman next year, which is great, but unfortunately means no snazzy photos!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Snowman Tri – North Wales « Dave Johnson's Photography - October 18, 2012

    […] At the weekend I had the pleasure of joining Mr & Mrs Cakes (she of Shoreditch Bakes fame!) for a weekend trip to North Wales. Apart from being a nice break from the norm, the main reason for the visit was for Mr & Mrs Cakes to tackle the Snowman Triathlon. Now I’m not an expert at triathlons so all I’m going to say is that the water looked mighty cold and the hill/mountain looked ominously steep. However, I am sure Mrs Cakes will do a full review of the event in time – so keep checking her site. *edit* here is the link to Mrs Cakes blog of the Snowman Tri […]

Leave a Reply

